The Comoros

The Comoro Islands are a group of four volcanic islands in the Mozambique Channel in the western Indian Ocean, midway between the east coast of the African continent and the northern tip of Madagascar. Three islands Grande Comore (Ngazidja), Mohéli (Mwali ) and Anjouan (Ndzuani) make up the independent Union des Comores, while the fourth island Mayotte (Maore) remains an overseas department of France.

View Larger Map

Read on for information about the Comoro islands and their geography, the unique biodiversity that has evolved on the islands, the history of the islands, Comorian people and their livelihoods, and the Comoros environmental situation.